AFV abs 1250 point US Army for BarrageCon

Helmsmen

AFV abs 1250 point US Army for BarrageCon

Post by Helmsmen »

Good evening gents,

As I’ve mentioned in my previous posts I’m very new to BA and am looking for some list building advise from the pros...

Question, assuming you’re only going to buy one AFV with part of your 1250 points for the upcoming BA tourney, which of these three, which I own, do you bring and why: Sherman 75 or 76, Jackson and/or a Chaffee?

NDNG_Troy

Re: AFV abs 1250 point US Army for BarrageCon

Post by NDNG_Troy »

I haven't played with the jackson at all. I like my Chaffee. 200 pts for a Veteran Light tank (with soft and squishy sides, unfortunately) - but with Recce and a gyro (vet only).

But, a Sherman is a Sherman. Why not have a heavy AT gun (76mm ver) and some MGs? But, it's almost 100 pts more than the Chaffee.
Play what you find fun... anything else is a waste of sixes
I currently play: Bolt Action, Warlords of Erehwon, and Cruel Seas
occasionally Blood and Plunder, Armada, and whatever strikes my fancy

Helmsmen

Post by Helmsmen »

Thanks again for the insight Troy. I personally like the Chaffee as well - seems like a cost effective option. That said, the guys at the LGS are giving some love to the Jackson for the AT value - so long as you don’t mind playing cat and mouse...

NDNG_Troy

Post by NDNG_Troy »

Treat the Chaffee like an armoured car, even if it's in a tank slot.

Played a Western Desert gamin against a friend who brought two early war AFVs, a Crusader and an armoured car... both at once were enough to worry the schnitzel out of my Pz III

Johnnyreb

Post by Johnnyreb »

I use the M5 Stuart as Veteran. Stabilizer and you get reinforced front armor 9+ on shots from the front. All for 196 points. Chaffee would be my second choice but that vulnerable thing really worries me.

Coyotesax

Post by Coyotesax »

Chargers rule.